STATE OF HAWAII Benefit, Employment and Support Services Division
Department of Human Services

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING BACKGROUND CHECKS ON OAHU
FOR CHILD CARE LICENSING

Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS) Sections 346-151 and 346-154 require all DHS licensed child
care providers and adult household members of family and group child care homes and child
care center staff to be processed for background checks, including criminal history and adult or
child abuse/neglect records clearance. The initial check requires that fingerprints be forwarded
to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a national records check; thereafter, only a record
check of local files will be required annually. (Note: If an individual has left the State of Hawaii
or has been away from child care for six consecutive months or more, the individual shall be
required to undergo a fingerprint check again.)

The background check process shall be initiated for each individual by completing and signing a
DHS 948 (08/19/13) “Authorization for Background Check and to Release Findings” form.
Once this form is completed, follow these steps, depending on your situation:

PARTI: INITIAL REQUESTORS REQUIRING FINGERPRINT CHECK:

1. For Child Care Center providers, please designate one person as the Contact
Person to schedule fingerprint appointments for multiple staff. The Contact Person
or individual shall call one of the units closest to the individual's home or child care
facility to schedule fingerprint appointments at the following offices:

Child Care Licensing Unit | Child Care Licensing Unit Il
Pohulani Elderly Housing Project Waipahu Civic Center

677 Queen Street, #400A 94-275 Mokuola St., Rm. 203
Honolulu, Hl 96813 Waipahu, HI 96797

Phone: (808) 587-5266 Phone: (808) 675-0470

2. The FBI fingerprinting may be conducted at the following DHS office location:
(Write the office location, date & time given by the DHS staff member)

The designated Contact Person should call to cancel as soon as the individual
knows that he/she cannot keep the appointment.

3. All persons requiring background checks must complete Page 1 and Page 2, Part
I.A. through 1.E. of the DHS 948 (08/19/13) form, prior to presenting themselves at
the DHS office for processing.

4 Please be on time, since appointments are scheduled every 15 minutes.
Individuals will be rescheduled if they are more than § minutes late.
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6. The FBI charges $16.50 fee for each fingerprint clearance request for child care
purposes. At the time of fingerprinting, each individual must provide a Cashier’'s
Check or Money Order payable to: Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center.

One money order/cashier's check may be submitted for two or more individuals
who fingerprint at the same time. Cash and Personal checks will not be
accepted. Note: Checks must be for the exact amount as the DHS office does not
give out change.

7. Individuals will be rescheduled if they do not have the correct form of payment.
8. At the time of your appointment you must have the following in hand:

a) Current Government issued Identification (ID) with a photograph.

b)  Completed and signed DHS 948 (08/19/13) form.

c) Money order or cashier's check of $16.50 made payable to: Hawalii
Criminal Justice Data Center.

9. Individuals will sign-in for their scheduled appointment in the sign-in log at the DHS
office. Designated staff will then provide further instructions to the fingerprinting
process.

PARTIl: ANNUAL CRIMINAL HISTORY REQUIREMENTS

Al licensed child care providers and their adult household members, and center staff shall
submit the completed and signed DHS 948 (08/19/13) form and return it to their assigned
child care licensing office for processing.

ANY QUESTIONS REGARDING THE RESULTS OF CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECK
CLEARANCES SHALL BE DIRECTED TO THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES, AND
NOT TO THE HAWAII CRIMINAL JUSTICE DATA CENTER. PLEASE CONTACT THE
ASSIGNED DHS UNIT AT .

(Office Phone #)

PART lil: CHILD AND ADULT ABUSE/NEGLECT CLEARANCE REQUESTORS

The completed DHS 948 (08/19/13) form shall also be used by the Department of Human
Services to conduct a child and adult abuse/neglect history check clearance.
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