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IMPORTANT NOTICE:

ONGOING TRAINING REQUIREMENT FOR RESOURCE CAREGIVERS
Dear Child Welfare Services (CWS) Resource Caregivers:

Effective January 1, 2013, the Department of Human Services (DHS) will initiate a
Mandatory Ongoing Training Requirement for all licensed resource families. After the
initial licensing year (H.A.N.A.L curriculum for licensure), a minimum of six (6)
training hours per family will be required annually or 12 hours over a two year
licensing period.

All states, including Hawaii, are mandated to establish an Ongoing Training Requirement for
Resource Caregivers by the Federal Government to further ensure the safety and support of
our children, youth and all of our families. Hawaii’s requirement was established through
feedback and collaboration with Resource Caregivers and other members of the Child
Welfare Community. Here are the details: '

DEFINITION OF TRAINING: Training means planned and organized activity designed
to impart skills, techniques and methodologies to a resource caregiver or a group to assist: 1)
in maintaining the safety, stability and well-being of children in foster care who reside in
their home; 2) in embracing and supporting the birth family towards reunification or
placement with relatives and maintaining connections with family and culture; and 3) to
provide support to the resource family. Training must be relevant to the foster care process;
meeting the emotional, cultural, developmental, physical, educational, special needs of the
child/youth in their care; supporting, mentoring, engaging the birth family; working as a
team; and the impact that fostering has on the resource family; etc. Guidance is provided by
DHS-Child Welfare Services (CWS) Licensing Units. Training Requirements are to be in
compliance with Federal and State Laws, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or DHS-CWS
Procedures.

ALTERNATIVE TRAININGS: Alternative Training Methods, as approved by DHS
licensing will be allowed in addition to in-person participation at conferences, etc. (e.g., a
chart is being developed as a guide, in addition to other discretionary training approved by
licensing).
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SECONDARY RESQURCE CAREGIVER: If there is a secondary licensed resource
caregiver, it is recommended that they also complete some of the training hours.

COMPLETION AWARDS: Dependent upon availability of funds, “completion
awards” for newly licensed families and renewal licensures who complete their training
requirements are being explored:

* New fully-licensed families in 2013 and going forth can be con31dered for “completion
awards”, dependent upon available funds;

* Resource Families who have renewals due in 2013 can either get a “Bye” for the 6 hours
of required training or be considered for the “completion award” for meeting ALL renewal
requirements. From 2014, all Resource Families will need to meet all renewal requirements
which will include the training requirements and can be considered for “completion awards”,
dependent upon available funds.

SPECIFIC MANDATES: DHS Licensing can also mandate specific trainings for specific
situations (e.g., needs of child in placement -- age, special needs, etc.)

RECOMMENDED TRAININGS: CPR and First Aid Trainings are hlghly recommended
- for all Resource Caregivers.

AVAILABLE TRAININGS: Family Programs Hawai'i provides FREE, ongoing trainings
statewide through a DHS contract. Visit familyprogramshawaii.org and other community
agencies for possible trainings and resources.

COSTS: Resource Families are to participate in the FREE trainings provided by DHS
contracted providers or other contractor/community resources, other approved alternative
training methods, OR at their own cost.

TO CARRY OUT THE REQUIREMENT: Licensing workers will work with resource
caregivers throughout each year to assure that they are working on completing their training
requirements, as well as all renewal requirements. Certificates, CWS Training
Verification Form, etc., will be required to be turned in to your licensing worker to
document your training.

ANNUAL PERIOD: Annual = per licensure year (vs. calendar year); newly licensed
families will begin the requirement from the second year of licensure.

UESTIONS? Please contact your licensing worker if you have questions. Licensing will
have the Chart on Possible Alternatives to In-Person Trainings, etc.

Mahalo for all your aloha and commitment to our children, youth and their families!

Sincerely,

Kayle M. Perez, Administgator
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