DAVID Y. IGE GOVERNOR



CATHY BETTS DIRECTOR

JOSEPH CAMPOS II DEPUTY DIRECTOR

STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES BENEFIT, EMPLOYMENT AND SUPPORT SERVICES DIVISION 1010 Richards Street, Suite 512 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

August 24, 2022

## HAND-DELIVERED

Ms. Mie Kanamori Director Kalamapi'i Play School 16 Manulele Street Hilo, Hawaii 96720

Dear Ms. Kanamori,

This is to inform you that the Department of Human Services (DHS) Central Hilo Unit (CHU) received information on August 23, 2022, that Kalamapi'i Play School was conducting child care without being licensed by DHS. Kalamapi'i Play School is located at 55 Ululani Street, Hilo, Hawaii 96720. As authorized by the Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS) §346-152.3 <u>Investigations</u>, Child Care Licensing Worker, Erin Okuda, conducted an unannounced visit to Kalamapi'i Play School on August 23, 2022 for the purpose of determining whether you were operating without a license from DHS.

Ms. Okuda found that you and five (5) additional staff members were caring for twenty-six (26) children. During the unannounced visit, you confirmed that Kalamapi'i Play School has a full-day program from 7:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., and an extended program from 3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., which runs Monday through Friday, and has started operations on August 22, 2022. Furthermore, DHS does not have any record of your facility holding a current child care license or having been authorized to operate a license-exempt child care program at this time.

Upon receipt of this letter, you are hereby mandated to **immediately cease and desist all child care operations at Kalamapi'i Play School located at 55 Ululani Street, Hilo, Hawaii 96720, by the** <u>close of</u> <u>business on Wednesday, August 24, 2022</u>. We are requesting that you also notify the parents or guardians of children enrolled in your child care program of the receipt of this cease and desist mandate.

Please be advised that in accordance with Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS) §346-151 <u>Definitions</u> "Care" refers to those situations where a person or organization has agreed to assume and has been entrusted with the responsibility for the child's supervision, development, safety, and protection apart from the

AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY AGENCY

Ms. Mie Kanamori August 24, 2022 Page 2

parent or guardian and HRS §346-161 <u>License for group child care home, group child care center</u>, "no person shall operate, maintain, or conduct a group child care home or group child care center unless licensed to do so by the Department of Human Services."

Any violation of the child care law shall result in referral to the Office of the Attorney General for appropriate legal action. HRS §346-156 <u>Penalty; remedies</u> states that "any person, entity, agency, or organization violating any provision of this part or any rule made pursuant thereto shall be fined up to \$1,000 for each violation; provided that the fine may be up to \$3,000 for each day for a violation of section 346-161 or 346-171." Also, DHS may make unannounced monitoring visits to ensure your compliance with the child care law.

If you have any questions regarding the child care law or the licensing rules, please contact CHU Supervisor, Jana Piimauna, at (808) 981-7290.

Sincerely,

Scott Nakasan

Scott Nakasone Assistant Division Administrator